Thursday, March 24, 2011

Google Delays Android Honeycomb Source Code Drop



  Google is delaying the release of the sweet Honeycomb source code until more work is done. Before all the conspiracy theorist or elitist open source purists begin  to cast their eternal judgement on the "Evil technology machine which is Google", lets analyze the said reasons behind the delay:

  Since the new version of Android has been pretty much re-written from the ground up, the team still needs more time. A spokeswoman for Google said in an emailed statement: "While we're excited to offer these new features to Android tablets, we have more work to do before we can deliver them to other device types including phones. We're committed to providing Android as an open platform across many device types and will publish the source as soon as it's ready," reported reuters.com earlier today.


  This defiantly seems very vague to me. A better clarification comes later from Andy Rubin: "To make our schedule to ship the tablet, we made some design trade offs," the Vice President of Engineering says: "We didn't want to think about what it would take for the same software to run on phones. It would have required a lot of additional resources and extended our schedule beyond what we thought was reasonable. So we took a shortcut." Fair Enough no? I am not too familiar with Android's release agreement so I decided to see exactly what Google agreed to when the Open Handset Alliance was first formed. In my research I found this in the Android FAQ. It says in a nutshell that some parts of Android are private, such as the included Google apps that ship with most devices. It also states that some parts are released right away or in some cases early. Sure enough, right their in the document it also clearly states that some parts of the code will be released "when it's ready".


  Doesn't sound like they are holding out on people, or backtracking from a previous agreement. I am right there with you when I say I want to dig into that monster and see just what they changed. I want to see the source be made into custom ROMs for my phone as well as other phones and tablets. But if the Android team is still writing the damn thing to run on phones I say let them write. I understand a working version has been released on a production device, so shouldn't Google drop the source? Maybe that is not a typical open source way to do things. Maybe Android is not your typical open source project. I truly believe given the nature of mobile and the world of telecommunications It's as open as it can be.

 For those who know me well already know I take nothing at face value and am usually very skeptical when a large corporation has an excuse for this or that. I want you to know that while there have been times I have questioned Google's actions, like the Google/Verizon net neutrality issue for example, I happen to know that of the world's corporations there is none who's business model ensures the wealth, prosperity and well being of the everybody like Google's. I also happen to be of the opinion that the unwritten motto of Google's: "Don't be Evil", is probably felt and upheld by most of it's employees. That being said, sure I would love to get my hands on some custom software built of the Honeycomb source. I also trust the Android team to release the source when it's ready. which is just what they promised to do.

Monday, March 21, 2011

AT&T Acquires T-Mobile in a $39 Billion Dollar Deal !

                                             









   Deutsche Telekom, Europe's largest telecommunications company and owner of T-Mobile USA, has signed a deal with AT&T to recieve 25 billion US dollars in cash and 14 billion US dollars worth in AT&T shares and in return will fork over 100% ownership of T-Mobile. Deutsche Telekom will in effect become AT&T's largest shareholder.(Source)


  For those of you who are loyal T-mobile customers, as my wife and I are, I'm sure you have many questions. Fear not for I've compiled a quick FAQ from the Official T-Mobile website:

  1) When will we be affected? There is  no need to panic...yet looks like the acquisition will take 12 months to complete and T-mobile says until that time they remain a separate company and no changes will be made. This applies to service, rates, billing and customer service.

  2) Why Is T-Mobile Doing This? Because of the compatibility of the 2 networks, the merger will be able to provide 4G LTE to 95% of the US population. For those who don't know, LTE is "Long Term Evolution". It is a very high bandwidth infrastructure with claims of theoretical download speeds of up to 100+mbps. 

3) Will T-Mobile's Quality Be Reduced? T-Mobile says no, the merger will in fact "strengthen the service to customers".

4) Should You Wait To Sign Up With T-Mobile or Upgrade? Once again T-Mobile says no, now is a great time to be a T-Mobile customer, they will still offer great devices and plans.

5) Will My Plan Change as a Result of This (Meaning After the 12 months)? T-Mobile says they will continue to honor any deals entered into before the change of ownership.

6) Will T-Mobile get the iPhone? who cares? If I wanted to overpay for an inferior product, I would be an Apple customer already;)

Here is the original Press Release from T-Mobile.

  How exactly will this effect customers that pay for the off contract "Even More Plus" plan? That was one of many great features of T-Mobile that you just can't find anywhere else.

 Also, will the grandfathered "Unlimited" plans remain truly unlimited or with the fine print grow ever decreasing data caps?

  I have to say this comes as a shock. I am upset by this to say the least, as I am sure many other people are. Aside from AT&T's known network congestion, maybe they can bring LTE to nearly every American who wants it? Maybe this is what America needs to start to catch the rest of the world in wireless bandwidth? Then again, maybe it's another way for wireless companies to get even more money from consumers. What do you think? Leave comments below.





Thursday, March 17, 2011

A New Look

 Hello and Welcome Android fans! I'm very excited to announce a little bit of a new look here at ChicagoLAndroid! As some of you already know, we are a fairly new addition to the community and would love to hear any feedback and requests for articles, reviews, tips, tricks and how-to's for Android.

My name is Quest and as a long time computing buff, hardware specialist, handy-man of technology and fresh programming student I will be happy to take suggestions. What is it you, my fellow Android fans want to know and if I don't know already, we can learn together!

-Cheers

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Wi-Fi Xoom vs.Wi-Fi iPad 2!

Moto Xoom







iPad 2

Now that Apple has announced the upcoming iPad 2 and Motorola announced the March 27th release of the Wi-Fi only Xoom, It's about time we really looked at the options you have as a potential consumer in the tablet market. This applies to everyone who wants a tablet without 3G connectivity and carrier data charges, weather you are new to tablets, trying to decide between Apple and Android or even if you bought an iPad or Android tablet last year and are considering upgrading. 
  
  First off lets start by saying what the actual options are by price and storage capacity. In the Apple corner you have 3 storage options 16GB for $499, 32GB for $599 and 64GB for $699. A very easy to remember Apple-ish pricing scheme.
   Motorola is offering the Xoom in a 32GB version for $599 but with a microSD slot giving you the option to add up to 32 GB more.
  Based on price and non-volitile storage both are on par with the midrange 32GB at $599. I give the edge to Motorola based on the fact that you can add more with a very handy and portable microSD card.
  Lets move on and dig into the meat of these devices and see how they stack up hardware wise:

Comparison of Specs Xoom vs. iPad 2:

Specifications                                 Xoom                                              iPad 2

Screen Size (physical)                  10.10 inches                                   9.7 inches
Screen Resolution                        HD 1280 x 800 pixels                               1024 x 768 pixels     

Screen type                                 Multi-touch /                                  Multi-touch/
                                                   Capacitive                                      Capacitive

Processor                                    Dual-Core NVIDIA                     Dual-Core A5                                          
                                                   Tegra 2 1000 MHz                       1000MHz
                                                      
Memory (RAM)                          1024 MB                                      512 MB                         

Memory (Storage)                       32 GB Internal  +                           32 GB Internal
                                                   (MicroSD 1-32GB 
                                                       Expandable)

Cameras                                        Front 2.0 mp                               Front 0.3 mp
                                                      Rear 5.0 mp                                 Rear ?? 

Video                                             720p Record/                               720p Record/
                                                      1080p Playback                          720p Playback

Sensors                                         Accelerometer/                              Accelerometer/                                                             
                                                     Gyroscope/Compass/                     Gyroscope/                                      
                                                        Barometer                                 Compass

OS/Web                                     Android 3.0 Honeycomb/                   iOS 4.*/
                                                   Android Webkit w/Adobe                 Apple Webkit                                            
                                                    Flash 10.1


  *Both systems come with all the other expected features such as Bluetooth (although 2.1 for some reason), high end audio and video codecs HDMI output . 3.5mm headphone jacks.

  The Xoom outright demolishes the iPad in the hardware arena. I can't help but wonder now after reading articles on some of the popular tech blogs just what they are talking about when they say Apple has an unfair hardware price advantage over the competition? If Apple is able to offer better prices due to a bulk component purchasing plan, I fail to see how this saves the consumer any money. One thing I cannot stress enough is RAM. The Xoom offers double the RAM and that my friends will equal the biggest noticeable speed difference. Think I'm wrong? Reach in your computer and pull out one of your memory sticks and see how smooth and responsive your computer is. For a touch/mobile device that truth is even more so. 

  Now lets look at the operating systems. Apple's iOS 4 is a very refined and polished system. No doubt about that. The only problem is that it doesn't offer a true way to multi-task. As these tablets get more powerfull you really need the system to be able to run multiple apps simultaneously. You shouldn's have to leave your music player to reply to texts, or not be able to surf the web and play music while downloading a video. Android can do these things already.
  Apple argues that Android doesn't have as many applications to run on the Xoom yet. Fact is all the great core apps have been optimized already as well as hundreds of others. More are being built very quickly, and I mean very quickly. Don't be surprised if there are 20,000 by late fall. Any app that is already in the Market for phones will work on the Xoom right now anyway. 
  Another concern lately has been security. Google removed some 50 apps as being malware. The culprit exploited some security hole and could potentially send your serial number to a web server. For  those people 
who drank the paranoia cool-aide and don't understand Android internals I'll sum up with this: Unless you have rooted your phone and specifically given some unknown app Superuser access, your phone is secure. If you don't know what that means your phone is secure. Each application runs in it's own Linux process without    
access to other applications data. want to know more? read HERE.
  Who is the winner? I am a biased Google fan so please forgive me if my judgement is clouded by some mystical shroud pulled over my eyes by unicorns swimming through the skies. I believe the answer to be obvious but then again. It's all about choice. I am grateful I have the option to choose a highly powerful, highly customizable Linux/Android tablet. For my money It would be crazy any other way:)

want to know more about the author? click here or follow me on Twitter


Motorola Xoom Wi-Fi Coming March 27th!



Motorola has announced that yes indeed on the 27th of March they are bringing the Xoom tablet in Wi-Fi only version to various retailers such as Amazon.com, Best Buy, Costco, RadioShack, Sam's Club, Staples, and Walmart. The sexy tablet will retail for $599 without a contract of any kind. For those of you waiting for a tablet carrier free and running Honeycomb now is your chance!
   The thin 13mm powerhouse will feature front and rear cameras, full HD 720p recording and 1080 playback, has a dual core Tegra-2 1 GHz processor which featues integrated graphics by Nvidia,
1GB RAM, 32GB on-board storage with an SD slot capable of another 32GB of storage. It also will have all the expected hardware such as GPS, gyroscope, barometer and accelerometer  Honeycomb's slick new interface is just breathtaking. If you think $599 is too much for a Wi-Fi only tablet, stay tuned for my comparison of the new iPad 2 and see just what your money buys you..
learn more about the author Here or follow me on Twitter

Monday, March 14, 2011

Angry Birds Seasons St.Patrick's Day Review!



  
  Seems people can't get enough Angry Birds these days, and I'm no exception. As an avid MMORPG gamer and of the generation that better graphics = better game, I have to concede to the avian flinging frenzy that took the world like an epidemic. Something  about the simplicity, meets intuitive physics, meets deadpan hilarity that makes each update better than the last. So without further delay, let us see if the St. Patrick's addition can keep us all enraptured or if this will finally be the release where we all go "meh...".


 A little tap on the new leprechaun icon and the first thing I see is that we have a new secondary splash screen all done up in the green colors and shamrocks of the season. Click on the little pot o' gold and I'm greeted with the usual added square indicating more levels to play. "Go Green, Get Lucky" I read as I tap the square. Now let me digress just to say that there are two people in this world. Those that think Angry birds is pure luck and those that think in order be an Angry Birds Ninja, like myself,  you must possess skill, patience, and highly dexterous side finger muscles. That being said a four leaf clover never hurt anybody. Click play and I soon discover that unfortunately there are only 18 new levels in this update. That is substantially less than the previous update and way less than the one before. I do see a trend here, but a couple things to consider: 






A) The game is free



and,
 B) The update frequency is well spaced apart, leaving enough time to complete the levels and just enough down time to make the update anticipated.
 
Above the last three levels there is a huge Facebook "like" button. One thing to mention however is that on display in what I like to call the "swag section" is a Facebook ad to send Angry Birds St. Patrick's Day themed cards to your friends. I decided to bite because I was just about to text someone and inform them of the update anyway and thought what a much better way to tell someone to get over to the Market and download the update. Sending the card was painless. Took all of 10 seconds to chose a friend and hit publish to post to their wall.






  How does it play? On my Samsung Galaxy S it plays perfectly.
   Other than the addition of pause screen adds I cannot tell if the game's physics have been changed or if the graphics are any better. The game does not feel any more difficult either and on that front I'm torn. I would love to be progressively challenged with harder levels in each update, but that would make the seasons levels unrealistic to the newcomer. That could be fixed by adding more levels.

 Overall, Angry Birds Season's continues to be great fun. I would like to see more levels and more challenging content but I guess that can be left for the main title. That's it for the App Factor! Until next time!


About the Author Quest: Click Here or Follow me on Twitter: Here

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

What is This?

I'll start by saying welcome to my blog! If you are wondering what this is about just read the subtitle. Bear with me as I'm slowly putting it all together. I hope to see you back soon and hope you enjoy your time spent here! I will have all kinds of usefull Android information so stay tuned.